Unlearning the BS: Anatomy & Physiology

Why do we put a gender on our genitals or internal organs when they do not need to be gendered? Our lungs, stomachs and colons do not have a gender, and this course will begin the unlearning process! Guided by trans and intersex community scholars who have expanded our understanding of bodies, this course will explore how we may create more inclusive and affirming experiences for all bodyminds! It is recommended to have taken the Intersectionality and Disability Justice courses prior to this one.

Learning Objective:

Participants will learn and unlearn sexual and reproductive anatomy and physiology as an essential part of body autonomy. 

Learning Outcomes:

By the end of this course participants will be able to:

  1. Explain why the phrase “forcibly assigned fe/male at birth” is used
  2. Discuss circumcision and common questions about circumcision
  3. List understanding and experiences connected to the term and identity Intersex
  4. Review intersex and trans people and independent scholars contributions to and expansion of sexual and reproductive anatomy

Essential Questions

  • Why do we gender reproductive organs? Who benefits?
  • What are challenges or successes in gender neutrality for body parts?
  • How do we include intersex people and their experiences? 
  • What ways have trans and intersex people contributed to our understanding of bodies and autonomy?

AASECT Core Knowledge Areas (CKA)

  • C. Socio-cultural, familial factors (e.g., ethnicity, culture, religion, spirituality, socioeconomic status, family values), in relation to sexual values and behaviors.
  • G: Sexual and reproductive anatomy/physiology
  • O. Knowledge of professional communication skills used with clients, students and colleague
  • P. History of the discipline of sex research, theory, education, counseling and therapy.

Register here: October 23 and 30, 2021 3pm – 5pm PST / 6pm – 8pm EST

Register here: November 23 and 30, 2021 11am – 1pm PST / 2pm – 4pm EST

Register here: December 15, 2021 INTENSIVE 12pm – 4pm PST / 3pm – 7pm EST