Sexual & Reproductive Justice: History, Expansion, Lessons Learned

Course Description

Reproductive Justice (RJ) is a framework and practice that guides us to do the work rooted in body autonomy and self-determination. When reflecting upon how we have come to witness the RJ movement expand, there is a deep connection to a global health equity approach for young women and girls. This course offers an historical overview of how RJ came to be, the global connections, successes, and missed opportunities that have also expanded to include sexual justice.

Learning Objective

Participants will learn about the origins of the US Reproductive Justice framework and movement.

Learning Outcomes

At the end of the course participants will be able to:

  • Explain the origins of reproductive justice
  • Identify how reproductive justice is aligned with sexuality work
  • List the differences between reproductive rights, health, and justice
  • Describe the lessons learned when missed opportunities continue in collaboration

Essential Questions

  • What are the roots of reproductive justice and sexual justice?
  • What are the core principles of reproductive justice and sexual justice?
  • How do I tell the difference between reproductive health, rights, and justice?
  • What opportunities exist for RJ to expand?

AASECT Core Knowledge Areas (CKA)

C. Socio-cultural, familial factors (e.g., ethnicity, culture, religion, spirituality, socioeconomic status, family values), in relation to sexual values and behaviors.

G: Sexual and reproductive anatomy/physiology

O. Knowledge of professional communication skills used with clients, students and colleague

P. History of the discipline of sex research, theory, education, counseling and therapy.

Register here: Saturday April 3 & 10, 2021 10am – 12pm PST / 1pm – 3pm EST

Register here: Monday May 24 & 31, 2021 4pm – 6pm PST / 7pm – 9pm EST

Register here: Friday July 16, 2021 1pm – 5pm PST / 4pm – 8pm EST INTENSIVE

Register here: Tuesday October 19 & 26, 2021 3pm – 5pm PST / 6pm – 8pm EST

Register here: Sunday December 12, 2021 10am – 2pm PST / 1pm – 5pm EST INTENSIVE