Media Literacy & Net Neutrality

Course Description

As the internet expands and becomes a place of exchanging and producing knowledge, US sexuality professionals are steadily impacted by laws and practices yet rarely are such connections made until far too late. Communities are created online and finding ways to create collective accountability and safety protocols offer new experiences and challenges. As new laws are introduced many communities remain without access to the internet and technology which result in a variety of less than exceptional educational and social experiences. Discover how to identify and use online resources and partner with activists and organizations advocating for a more inclusive and accessible internet.

Course Outcomes: At the end of the course participants will:

  • Determine trusted online content
  • Identify five Media Literacy principles
  • Define Net Neutrality
  • List impacts of Net Neutrality on public health and sexuality field in US
  • Create an audio and image description

Essential Questions:

  • How do I identify a trustworthy website?
  • What is Media Literacy and how is it useful?
  • What is Net Neutrality?
  • What impact does Net Neutrality have on the public health and US sexuality field?
  • How do I create an image and audio description?

AASECT Core Knowledge Areas

  • A: Ethics and ethical behavior
  • C: Socio-cultural factors
  • K: Cyber sexuality and social media
  • N: Learning theory and its application

This program meets the requirements of the American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors and Therapists (AASECT) and is approved for 4 CE credits. These CE credits may be applied toward AASECT certification and renewal of certification.

Register here: Thursday February 17 & 24, 2021 12pm – 2pm PST /3pm – 5pm EST

Register here: Monday June 7 & 14, 2021 9am – 11am PST / 12pm – 2pm EST

Register here: Monday October 11, 2021 10am – 2pm PST INTENSIVE 4 hours with one 20 minute break

Register here: Wednesday December 8, 4pm – 8pm PST / 7pm – 11pm EST INTENSIVE 4 hours with 1 20 minute break

Request a private session with Bianca at AnteUpPD@gmail.com