Apology Workshop

Course Description

Previously titled: F^#*ed Up! Here’s What I Learned and How I Apologized

This is a workshop about failure and the ways we’ve failed, lessons we’ve learned, and ways we’ve evolved to ensure we don’t have to learn the same lesson twice, or thrice! So often the conversations about professional development or community collaborations are devoid of how we fail and apologize, yet all of us have this experience. Goals include discussing these realities and get some healing started! Participants will leave having worked on an apology they need to give.

Course Outcomes: At the end of this workshop participants will be able to:

  1. Identify at least two coping strategies when experiencing professional failure
  2. Examine professional failure as a tool for learning
  3. Explain how to structure an apology

Essential Questions:

  • How do I need to be supported when I “fail” or cause harm?
  • What types of apologies are there and how may they be useful?
  • What may I learn when I’m open to correction?
  • What impact do I wish to have with my communities, partners, collaborators, clients, and others I work with?

This program meets the requirements of the American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors and Therapists (AASECT) and is approved for 3 CE credits. These CE credits may be applied toward AASECT certification and renewal of certification.

AASECT Core Knowledge Areas

  • A: Ethics and ethical behavior
  • E. Intimacy skills (e.g., social, emotional, sexual), intimate relationships, interpersonal relationships and family dynamics.
  • O. Knowledge of professional communication skills used with clients, students and colleagues.

Register here: Tuesday January 26, 2021 5pm – 8pm PST / 8pm – 11pm EST

Register here: Thursday April 15, 2021 10am – 1pm PST / 1pm – 4pm EST

Register here: Saturday June 5, 2021 3pm – 6pm PST / 6pm – 9pm EST

Register here: Monday September 20, 2021 3pm – 6pm PST / 6pm – 9am EST