A More Inclusive History of the US Sexuality Field

Course Description

Wondering where are all the Black, Indigenous People of Color (BIPOC) are in the history of the US sexuality field? So are we! This course fills in the numerous gaps in the contributions, research, labor, and lives of BIPOC to the US. Honoring the contributions of some white sex professionals and making space for a more inclusive understanding of how BIPOC have also created new forms of healing, knowledge production, and research will be offered along with how a framework of dehumanization has guided the field and must be shifted. Learn something new and challenge the single story narrative we’ve been taught about the US sexuality field. It’s time to grow. Co-facilitated with Natasha Singh.

By the end of the course participants will be able to:

  • Explain and identify a dehumanization framework
  • List at least six (6) inclusive BIPOC scholars/ educators / practitioners to US sexuality field
  • Examine white supremacist and settler colonial frameworks utilized in the US sexuality field
  • Recognize the US sexuality field as interdisciplinary

Essential Questions:

  • What is a dehumanization framework?
  • Who are BIPOC contributors to the US sexuality field?
  • How do I challenge the white supremacy in the field?
  • Why is an interdisciplinary approach needed for the US sexuality field?

AASECT Core Knowledge Areas:

  • C. Socio-cultural factors
  • H. Health/medical factors that may influence sexuality
  • O. Professional communication and personal refection skills
  • P. History of the discipline of sex research, theory, education, counseling, and therapy

This program meets the requirements of the American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors and Therapists (AASECT) and is approved for 4 CE credits. These CE credits may be applied toward AASECT certification and renewal of certification.

Register here: Saturday November 20, 2021 12pm – 4pm PST / 2pm – 6pm CST / 3pm – 7pm EST INTENSIVE

Register here: Saturday March 26, 2022 10am – 2pm PT / 1pm – 5pm ET INTENSIVE

Register here: Monday June 6 & 13, 2022 12pm – 2pm PT / 3pm – 5pm ET

Register here: Tuesday September 20 & 27, 2022 3pm – 5pm PT / 6pm – 8pm ET

Register here: Thursday December 8, 2022 1pm – 5pm PT / 4pm – 8pm ET INTENSIVE